Arianto Patunru's picture

Arianto Patunru

Fellow, Arndt-Corden Department of Economics; Policy Engagement Coordinator, ANU Indonesia Project


BA (Universitas Indonesia), MSc & PhD (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Contact details

Arianto Patunru joined the Arndt-Corden Department of Economics in October 2012. He was previously the head of the Institute for Economic and Social Research (LPEM-FEUI) in Jakarta while teaching economics at the Department of Economics and Business, Universitas Indonesia. He holds a PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Patunru’s publication includes papers in the American Journal of Agricultural Economics, Journal of Development Studies, and Contemporary Economic Policy. He is an editor of the Bulletin of Indonesian Economic Studies (BIES). He also writes commentaries and op-eds in East Asia Forum, New Mandala, Australian Financial Review, as well as in Indonesian media such as Tempo and Kompas. He has recently published three edited volumes on trade and globalisation.

In his engagement activities, Patunru coordinates the ANU Indonesia Project policy interactions and convenes the Australia-Indonesia High Level Policy Dialogue that involves Indonesia’s Ministry of Finance and Australia’s DFAT and Treasury. He also co-coordinates the Indonesia Project on COVID19 in Indonesia initiatives.

Current PhD supervision

Past PhD supervision

  • Krisna Gupta (2022, chair) - Winner of the 2019 Hadi Soesastro Prize
  • Siti K Ghazali (2022, assoc supervisor)
  • Yuventus Effendi (2022, assoc supervisor)
  • Umi Yaumidin (2021, assoc supervisor)
  • Martha Primanthi (2021, assoc supervisor)
  • Chandra Tri Putra (2021, assoc supervisor)
  • Barli Suryanta (2021, chair)
  • Wannaphong Durongkaveroj (2020, assoc supervisor) - 3rd Place in the 2020 Stiglitz Essay Prize
  • Yessi Vadila (2019, assoc supervisor)
  • Deasy Pane (2019, chair) - Winner of the 2018 Hadi Soesastro Prize
  • Huong Thi Tran (2018, assoc supervisor)
  • Husna Jamaludin (2018, assoc supervisor)

Master supervision

  • Rezky Zain (2022) - Winner of the 2022 Helen Hughes Prize
  • Nauval Hafiluddin (2021) - Winner of the 2021 Helen Hughes Prize
  • Rachmad M. Arifuddin (2021)
  • Realita Eschachasti (2020)
  • Priyo Anggono (2020)
  • Rotua Siregar (2020)
  • Ira Aprilianti (2020)
  • Aditia (2019)
  • Yubiwini (2017)
  • Arief Wahyudi (2017)
  • Rosy Kusuma (2016)
  • Listyowati Lestari (2015)
  • Bintang P. Jati (2014)
  • Adhipradana Swasito (2014)

Research interests

Trade and industry; environment and resources

COVID-19 expertise

  • Convenor of Indonesia Project on COVID-19
  • Research: COVID-19, food security and trade: The case of Indonesia (with Felippa Amanta)
  • Research: Indonesia’s FDI reform post COVID-19 (with Andree Surianta)
  • Research: Trade and industry policies in response to COVID-19 (with Krisna Gupta)
  • Research: Economic risks of COVID-19: A local perspective (with Wisnu Harto)
  • Policy brief: Attracting FDI post COVID-19 by simplifying Indonesia’s regulatory framework (with Andree Surianta)
  • Policy brief: Mitigating food supply chain disruptions amidst COVID-19 (with Galuh Octania & Pingkan Audrine)
  • Policy brief: COVID-19 and Indonesia’s manufacturing industry (with Krisna Gupta) - submitted to Indonesian Minister of Industry
  • Policy brief: COVID-19 and food security - submitted to Indonesian Minister of Agriculture

Updated:  10 June 2023/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team